Top Performers and finalists for the last 5 IPL Seasons

Hyderabad: Mumbai Indians' pose with the trophy after winning the Final match of IPL 2019 against Chennai Super Kings at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, on May 12, 2019. Mumbai Indians won by 1 run. It also became the first team to win four Indian Premier League (IPL) titles. (Photo: Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most competitive sporting events in the world. Battling to stay on top of the IPL ranking, the finest cricketers on the planet play for eight powerful IPL franchises. IPL is in its 14th edition, but the intensity witnessed in the finals is unmatched. However, before this year’s competition gets underway, let us look back at the top performers who competed in the last 5 IPL seasons.

  1. Ben Cutting- Sunrisers Hyderabad (2016)

The cricketer played brutally on that fateful night in Bengaluru. The SRH team needed a strong finish to end their innings. In came Ben Cutting, and after 15 balls that touched his bat, he completely changed the course of the match. Cutting gave four sixers and was particularly pit-less even against his fellow countrymen, Shane Watson. The Aussie all-rounder ended with figures of 2/35, and Sunrisers Hyderabad won the maiden IPL title in 2016.

  1. Krunal Pandya- Mumbai Indians (2017)

At 65-5, with just 54 balls to go, Mumbai Indians were having a tough time during the IPL match. This is when the blade of all-rounder Krunal Pandya wasted no time and started getting singles and doubles to keep his team afloat. With calculative risks, he managed to push MI at a respectable 129. Pandya did not pick any wickets, but he made sure Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) never ran with the chase. In the end, Mumbai Indians won the game, beating Rising Pune Supergiant in the finals. For his big impact performance, Krunal Pandya earned the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

  1. Shane Watson- Chennai Super Kings (2018)

In the finals, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) scoreboard did not look good compared to their rival Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) bowling. Bringing in the retired Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was a complete game-changer. Watson ensured that it was a one-man show as he attacked the bowlers consistently. He struck eleven boundaries and pull on eight sixers, as his knock of 117* helped Chennai Super Kings win the IPL final.

  1. JaspritBumrah- Mumbai Indians (2019)

JaspritBumrah was bowling the 19th over and played well until the final ball when he bowled a bouncer went through to De Kock behind the stumps. It was a regulation take for QDK but, he missed the ball and, it went straight away to the boundary. However, Bumrah was calm about the whole situation and did not lose his cool at De Kock’s costly mistake. Mumbai Indians ultimately defended 149 in 20 overs to lift their fourth IPL title in Hyderabad. JaspritBumrah was given the title of man-of-the-match for his performance in the final against CSK.

  1. Trent Boult- Mumbai Indians (2020)

With many brilliant players on board, Mumbai Indians have consistently scored high in the IPL team ranking. Trent Boult is an excellent player that got traded to the MI team before the 13th season of the IPL. He played a critical role in winning the 2020 IPL title for Mumbai Indians. Boult ended season 13 of IPL with an economy of 6.7 RPO (Runs Per Over) and a 13.5 strike rate.